Drs. Anne Browne, Vicky Bungay, David Byres, Sandra Lauck and Elizabeth Saewyc.

Congratulations to Canadian Academy of Nursing Fellows 2020

10 Sep 2020

The Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) announced the inaugural list of Fellows of the Canadian Academy of Nurses on September 9, 2020. We particularly celebrate the induction of these five faculty members and the scholarly activity and leadership that  earned them this accolade:

Dr. Annette Browne

Dr. Vicky Bungay

Dr. David Byres

Dr. Sandra Lauck

Dr. Elizabeth Saewyc

The CNA states that "The Fellowship program recognizes and celebrates the most accomplished nurses in Canada and represents the highest honour for Canada’s nursing leaders." Following the announcement, Dr. Sandra Lauck posted to social media that she is "Thankful for UBC Nursing and Providence Health who 'made me a nurse'. Privileged to be included among this outstanding group of nursing leaders. So pleased for our profession for this new way of recognizing excellence. Indeed, a moment to celebrate."

The list includes many other names familiar as associates, partners, and leaders in the profession, and we extend congratulations to them all. Dr. Sally Thorne, Charter Fellow and first to undertake the leadership role of the Academy is "Delighted that so many stellar nurses have been recognized in this inaugural year of the Canadian Academy of Nurses. This is a historic moment for our discipline."

An online celebration for these inductees will take place in November. Please visit the CNA-AIIC website for details when they become available.

Canadian Nursing Association Announcement